Spring 2013 Newsletter

Posted on Updated on

Well last December I boldly claimed I would write on this blog MONTHLY.   So far I have failed miserably!  However, if I change to writing quarterly I’m right on time!  Anyway, here is a recap of the last three months…

The biggest news starting out the new year, was the completion of a new video of my song Coyote.  It really came out well, and if you haven’t seen it yet, you can check it out on my videos page.  I’m really delighted with how it turned out.

Coyote Title

In January I headed down to Texas where I played the Open Door Coffeehouse.  It’s held in the Trinity United Methodist Church in Arlington (Dallas area),  and it’s a great concert series that has been going on for over 15 years now.  I also had  a fun gig at Benini sculpture ranch. It’s a way cool gallery outside of Johnson City, with sculptures not only inside the gallery, but all over the property.  It literally looks like they are growing sculptures there. On my way to the ranch, in the middle of the road, was this beautiful mare and her buddy the burrow.  We had a short conversation during which I suggested another place to stand might add to her longevity.

Horsing Aroundsm

In February I was in Southern California where I did a show at the “Coffee Gallery Backstage” in Altadena. It’s a WONDERFUL listening room, and I was thrilled to have a reporter there from the extremely hip Americana magazine “No Depression”.  He said he loved my songs and that he was going to do a story on me so hopefully I’ll be posting that soon. Next I performed for Fireside Concerts in Newbury Park, with the “Mighty Echos” doo wop group.  I’ve never had so many people sign up to be on my mailing list after a show before.  I felt like a prom queen!  I finshed up the trip with a show for the San Diego Folk Heritage Society at a vintage performance spot called Templar’s Hall in San Diego.  It’s such a great old building, all wood inside and with great acoustics, nestled in Poway Park which also houses the Poway Midland Railway.  Funky and fun, and I saw a lot of friends I’ve not seen in about ten years.  CityImage

Later in February, back in Nashville, I had the chance to perform at the Ernest Tubb Midnight Jamboree.  It is the second oldest radio show in history!  I was so thrilled to be on that stage where so many famous country stars had stood.cropped-texasttheatre.jpg

In early March I was up in Massachussetts, where I had a chance to play a well known house concert called “Fox Run” with Martyn Joseph from Wales who is a hauntingly beautiful guitar player.  The next night, Sunday 3/3 I was down on Cape Cod playing Brick Hill House Concerts. I’ve been performing on Cape Cod since my very first gig, but I had never played there in the winter before so I was curious to see what it would be like to be on the cape “off season”.  With the tourists gone it really reminded me of the way it was when I first went there in my twenties.  I had a GREAT night, with friends at the show who were at that very first gig, many decades ago! My host Dinah put on a great Lasagna pot luck too, and the evening was capped off when another old friend, Kami Lyle, (this one from Nashville but now living up there) sat in on a few songs playing her trumpet.

Norska Yentas

Also at the show, was  Deb Ennis and Bob Weiser, DJ at WOMR.  weiserandme

The next night I was up in Provincetown to do a live show on WOMR with Dinah who also is a DJ at the station.

WOMRlivesmall

 Later in March I headed up to Ohio and Pittsburgh to perform.  I thought I was clever to not book anything up in the “Lake Effects Snow” area until late in March, figuring it would be warming up by then.  Boy was I in for a surprise.  It was snowing most of the time I was up there, and I was pretty happy I had new tires and new windshield wipers!  I played the Winchester Music Hall in Cleveland, which is a wonderful performance space, and also had a great time at Sonnets in Wadsworth near Akron thanks to my friend Kathy Johnson promoting my show a lot.  In Pittsburg I did a house concert in a great old “Four Square” home built in 1908.  I felt like Jo in “Little Women” every time I came down the elaborate staircase to see the window seat.
pitts-small

I’m now getting ready to swing up towards the heartland, with gigs in Nebraska, Kansas, & New Mexico.  Check out my tourschedule to see the details.

Stay healthy and happy till I see you next!

Claudia

2 thoughts on “Spring 2013 Newsletter

    kewilbon@sbcglobal.net said:
    March 29, 2013 at 3:26 am

    Hi Claudia, I am JC Watts niece. I do not know if you know that JC wife Cleo passed away last week.

    _____

      Claudia Nygaard responded:
      March 29, 2013 at 4:42 am

      I did know, but thanks for making sure I was in the loop. I spoke to him a couple days before she left. He seems very grounded,but of course he is probably in shock. He took her to California to be buried, and while he was out there he stopped to see my sister which thrilled her so. It was kind of him to go all the way to her house in the wine country when he had so many others to visit.

      Thanks again,

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

